• Lead-organizer: UN Energy
  • 09:30 - 21:00
  • Date: 19 Jun 2012
  • Room: P3-1

Energy Day

Organizing partners



The Rio+20 Energy Day is organized by UN-Energy in cooperation with the Secretary-General’s High-level Group on Sustainable Energy for All. UN-Energy is the United Nations’ mechanism for inter-agency collaboration in the field of energy. The Sustainable Energy for All initiative, and the subsequent High-level Group, was launched in 2011 by the Secretary-General to generate collective and global action towards three ambitious objectives on energy access, energy efficiency and renewables by 2030.

Featuring a diverse selection of international renowned academics, policy makers, business leaders and civil society representatives, the 12 interactive sessions will examine the important synergies arising from this unique multi-stakeholder approach, with a special emphasis on generating action oriented solutions for the future. For more information, please go to

Detailed programme

Opening Session: Achieving Sustainable Energy for All

9:30 – 9:55
Welcoming remarks: Sha Zukang, Secretary-General of Rio+20 and Under-Secretary-General, Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Address: Robert C. Orr, Assistant Secretary-General for Policy Coordination and Strategic Planning, Executive Office of the Secretary-General

Address: Sheila Oparaocha, Executive-Secretary, ENERGIA

Address: Josette Sheeran, Vice President, World Economic Forum

Session 1: Commitments to Action

10:05 – 10:45
Chad Holliday, Chair of the Board, Bank of America

Rob Bernard, Chief Environmental Strategist, Microsoft
Pham Hoang Mai, Vietnam Ministry of Planning and Investment, Director General
Caio Koch Weser, Vice Chairman, Deutsche Bank
Emmanuel Limido, President of Centuria Capital and of WIRE
David Michael Karabelnikoff, First Alaskan Network

Session 2: Financing Energy for Sustainable Development

10:55 – 11:50
Andrew Steer, Special Envoy for Climate Change, World Bank Group

Michael Liebreich, CEO, Blooomberg New Energy Finance
Govind Raj Pokharel, Executive Director, Alternative Energy Promotion Centre
Oluniyi Robbin-Coker, Minister of Energy, Sierra Leone
Elbia Melo, President, Brazilian Association of Wind.

Session 3: Country-Level Actions for Energy Access

12:00 – 12:55
Veerle Vandeweerde, Director, Environment & Energy Group, Bureau for Development Policy, UNDP

Klaus Rudischhauser, Director, Quality and Impact, European Commission
Sulton Rahimov, First Deputy Minister of Melioration and Water Resources Management of Tajikistan
Irene Muloni, Senior Minister of Energy & Mineral Development, Uganda
Geoffrey Musonda, Assistant Director, Department of Energy, Zambia
Susan McDade, United Nations Resident Coordinator, Uruguay
Christoph Frei, Secretary-General, World Energy Council

Session 4: Sustainable Energy Solutions: Efficiency and Renewables

13:05 – 14:00
Christine Lins, Executive Secretary, Ren21

Harry Verhaar, Head of global public & government affairs, Philips
Tamko Hamza, Office of the Vice President of Ghana
Marta Bonifert, Executive Director, The Regional Environmental Center, Hungary
Steve Sawyer, Secretary General, Global Wind Energy Council
Martin Lidegaard, Minster of Energy, Denmark

Session 5: Energy Enabling the MDGs: Water and Food Security

14:10 – 15:00
Alexander Mueller, Assistant Director General, FAO

Gregg Murray, CEO, Cleanstar Mozambique
Susan Reichie, Assistant Administrator, Bureau of Policy, Planning, and Learning, USAID
Christian Friis-Bach, Minister for Development Cooperation of Denmark
Simon Trace, CEO, Practical Action
Youba Sokona, Coordinator, African Climate Policy Centre (ACPC) (tbc)

Session 6: Energy Enabling the MDGs: Health and Women’s Empowerment

15:10 – 16:00
Maria Neira, Director of the Public Health and Environment Department, World Health Organization

Margaret Chan, Director General, World Health Organization
Kandeh Yumkella, Director General, UN Industrial Development Organiastion
Lashmi Puri, Deputy Executive Director UN Women
High level participant French Development Cooperation
Haja Zainab Bangura, Minister of Health of Sierra Leone
Laura Stachel, Co-Founder and Executive Director, WE CARE Solar
Radha Muthiah, Executive Director , Global Alliance for Clean Cookstoves

Session 7: Energy Monitoring and Planning for Sustainable Development

16:10 – 17:00
José Goldemberg, Professor, University of Sao Paulo

Hans-Holger Rogner, Head, Planning & Economic Studies Section, IAEA
Mauricio Tolmasquim, President, Empresa de Pesquisa Energética, Brazil
George Prime, Minister of Carriacou & Petite Martinique Affairs, Grenada
Matar Hamed Al-Neyadi, Undersecretary, Ministry of Energy, UAE
Miguel Fernandez, Director, ENERGETICA, Bolivia

Session 8: Local Actions to Advance Sustainable Energy

17:10 – 18:00
Dolf Gielen, Director IRENA Innovation and Technology Centre, International Renewable Energy Agency

Sigurd Heiberg, Chairman, UNECE Committee on Sustainable Energy
Jim Walker, co-founder of the Climate Group

Taher Diab, Head of Strategy, Dubai Supreme Council of Energy
Josh Henretig, Senior Manager Environmental Sustainability, Microsoft

Session 9: Actions to Stimulate Innovation and Leverage Private Capital for Sustainable Energy Solutions

18:10 – 18:50
Carlos Pascual, Ambassador, Special Envoy and Coordinator for International Energy Resources, U.S. Department of State

Todd Stern, Special Envoy for Climate Change, U.S. Department of State
Donald Steinberg, Deputy Administrator, USAID
Rick Duke, U.S. Department of Energy
Kris Balderston, Special Representative for Global Partnerships U.S. Department of State
John Morton, Vice President, US Overseas Private Investment Corporation

Session 10: Financing Actions to Scale up from the Ground

19:00 – 19:40
Suleiman Jasir Al-herbish, Director General, OPEC fund for International Development

Martin Hiller, Director General Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Partnership (REEEP)
Alban Jacquin, Schneider Electric Company, Director of sustainability
Damian Obiglio, Jamaican Public service company , ex. CEO
Pham Hoang Mai Vietnam Min of Plan. & invest. , Director General
Lutgardo Álvarez Garay, Deputy Minister of Electricity and Alternative Energy, Bolivia

Special Session: Launch of the Global Energy Assessment

19:50 - 21:00
Kandeh Yumkella, Director General, UN Industrial Development Organisation
Pavel Kabat, Director/CEO, IIASA

Ged Davis and Jose Goldemberg, GEA Co-Presidents

Olav Kjørven, Assistant Secretary-General for development policy, UNDP & Co-chair for the UN's post-2015 work: "What kind of world do we want to live in?"
Pradeep Monga, UN Industrial Development Organisation
David Rodgers, Senior Energy Specialist, Global Environment Facility (GEF)
Wolfgang Waldner, State Secretary, Austrian Foreign Ministry
Hasan Mahmud, Bangladesh, Minister of Environment and Forestry

Hani Sherry Ayittey, Ghana, Minister of Environment, Science & Technology (tbc)
Kuntoro Mangkusubroto, Indonesia, Ministerial level Head of Presidential Delivery Unit, Office of President (tbc)
Alcinda Abreu, Mozambique, Environment Minister (tbc)
Don-koo Lee, Republic of Korea, Minister of Forestry

Barbados: H.E. Freundel J. Stuart, Prime Minister (tbc)
Vietnam: H.E. Nguyen Thien Nhan, Deputy Prime Minister

Copyright (c) United Nations 2011 | Terms of Use | Privacy Notice | Contact | Site Map | New